February 15, 2016

The 25th Annual Wisconsin Romance Writers of America 2016 Fab Five contest submission deadline is two weeks away!

This contest is available to writers unpublished in book-length romance fiction. Self-published authors may also apply. Your entry must be limited to the first 2,500 words of your manuscript and must be submitted electronically. For an entry form and complete details regarding rules and eligibility, click the Contests link on our website: http://www.wisrwa.org/

Grab this opportunity for a critique of your work with the prospect that our final round judges may ask to see more of it. We are low on entries this year in all our categories so your chance of getting your work in front of our final round judges is greater.

As part of our 25th anniversary celebration, we have a few added surprises for our entrants:

•Every entry that opts in will have a chance to win a free registration (does not include lodging, food or travel expenses) to the October 8, 2016 WisRWA Writer’s Workshop in Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin. The winner will be announced June 1, 2016.

•Every entry entered into the 2016 Fab Five Contest will be entered into a drawing for a critique (whether the entry finals or not) by an industry professional. Winners of the critiques will be announced on April 16, 2016, at which time their Fab Five entries will be sent to one of the industry professionals. Should the industry professionals wish to see more of the entry they critique, they will ask for it in their critique. Critiques will be returned to the winners by late May.

Our fees continue to be among the lowest for contests of this type – just $18 for WisRWA members and $25 for all other entrants.
Deadline for entries is 11:59 PM CST, March 1, 2016. Categories are limited to thirty-five submissions each.

Here’s our lineup of categories and final round judges for 2016:

Historical :
Elle Keck, Avon Romance
Abby Saul, Browne & Miller Literary Associates

Raela Schoenherr, Bethany House
Claudia Cross, Folio Literary Management

Paranormal/Fantasy/Futuristic/Time Travel:
Chris Keeslar, Boroughs Publishing Group
Laura Zats, Red Sofa Literary

Romantic Suspense:
Amy Stapp, Tor Books
Lane Heymont, The Seymour Agency

Series Contemporary:
Alexandra Sehulster, St. Martin’s Press
Rachael Dugas, Talcott Notch Literary Services

Single Title:
Lydia Sharp, Entangled Publishing
Jessica Watterson, Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency

Women’s Fiction:
Kate Seaver, Berkley Publishing Group
Carly Watters, PS Literary Agency

Young Adult/New Adult:
Elizabeth Lynch, HarperCollins
Whitley Abell, Inklings Literary Agency

For more information about the contest or the extra goodies, please visit the WisRWA website (www.wisrwa.org) or send an email to Molly Maka, Fabulous Five Contest Coordinator, at fabfivecontest@gmail.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment